October 13, 2008

Puntland Election


Elections in Puntland
Self-declared, autonomous region of Somalia;
[Official Web Site]

Political Profile

President: Mohamud Muse Hersi "Adde" 08 January 2005.The president is elected by parliament
House of Representatives [Unicameral]: Largely consultative legislative body
Political Parties: There Are no Political Parties in Puntland

Election Results
(All elections held in Puntland to date have been indirect.)

1998 : Abdullahi Yusuf Ahmed was chosen as the first president of Puntland in 1998 by a delegation of traditional leaders for a three year term. Yusuf's term expired on 30 June 2001 after an unsuccessful bid to extend his term. Yusuf Haji Nur was declared acting president the next day and held the position until 14 November 2001, when a new election was held.

14 November 2001 : (Chosen by a delegation of traditional leaders)
Following the election, forces loyal to former president Abdullahi Yusuf Ahmed, who refused to recognize the result, attacked and captured the capital Garowe on 21 November 2001. Clashes continued until 08 May 2002 when Yusuf's forces seized the last remaining stronghold of Jama Ali Jama, Bossaso, thus controlling Puntland

Jama Ali Jama : 238 (50.85%)
others : 230 (49.15%)

08 january 2005: (Chosen by members of the Parliament)

Abdullahi Yusuf Ahmed was elected transitional president of Somalia in October 2004. Mohamed Abdi Hashi served as interim president until 08 January 2005, when a new election was held.

Mohamud Muse Hersi "Adde" 18 (27.69%) 21 (32.31%) 35 (53.85%)
Mohamed Abdi Hashi 27 (41.54%) 29 (44.62%) 30 (46.15%)
Abdirahman Faroole 15 (23.08%) 15 (23.08%) -

Author: verified_user